Author Topic: Can you push process C41?  (Read 8075 times)

Kayos

• Peel Apart
    • My Blog
Can you push process C41?
« on: January 25, 2015, 08:18:45 AM »
As title, I've done some googling but not found anything usefull, I expected as its a "set" process it would have been x minutes extra per stop in the developer, but this info seems elusive

Anyone done this with any success?

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
« Last Edit: January 25, 2015, 11:52:55 AM by Peter R »
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

Kayos

• Peel Apart
    • My Blog
Re: Can you push process C41?
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2015, 01:29:29 PM »
Thanks for that, both interesting reading

Francois

• Self-Coat
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2015, 01:58:34 PM »
I know it's doable. But you get strange color shifts with the process. It's usually recommended for stage photography as the lights already screw-up the balance anyways.
Francois

Film is the vinyl record of photography.

Indofunk

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
    • photog & music
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2015, 04:09:43 PM »
Did someone say "strange color shifts"? Might have to try this...  ;)

Ezzie

• Self-Coat
  • Late to the party
    • Silver Halides - Pictures in B&W
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2015, 07:15:30 PM »
Underexposing and normal processing may give colour shifts. No need to push process to get that ;) . If you're going to scan the film, then correcting white balance is easy enough.

Portra 400 has gained a reputation for being very robust to both over and underexposure, with little need for pushing or pulling. From 100-1600 on the same roll is doable. I've done 100-800 and hardly noticed any ill effect. Overexposed images tend to gain more grain in the highlights, underexposed more mirky shadows.
Eirik

"..All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain,.." - Roy Batty
B+W film picture blog
My DIY and Caffenol blog