Author Topic: New at film developing + scanning.  (Read 4852 times)

MiguelCampano

• Sheet Film
New at film developing + scanning.
« on: March 24, 2017, 01:34:40 AM »
Hello,

I'm new at this forum. In addition to that, I'm also new at film developing and scanning. Last Sunday I developed my first three rolls, ever! (Kodak Tri-X 400, Ilford HP5 Plus 400, Ilford Pan F 50), with Ilfosol-3 diluted at 1+14, Ilfostop and Ilford Rapid Fixer at 1+4. I have one Paterson Super System 4 tank with one 35mm reel. Today I developed a Fuji Neopan Acros 100 roll that I used this afternoon walking around the river after work.

I am not looking to be the next Ansel Adams, however, based on the pictures (I'm posting them below), what kind of advice could you give me in terms of developing/scanning. I have an Epson V370, scan the B&W film strips in color mode at 2400~3600DPI, dust removal on. I plan on using Rodinal once my Ilfosol-3 is over.

Also, I'll spend this Saturday walking around Philadelphia shooting street/alleys, so any tips are welcome!

Thank you in advance,
Miguel.

Kodak Tri-X 400.

Ilford HP5 Plus 400

Kodak Tri-X 400

Kodak Tri-X 400

Those are a few of the frames that I've scanned... Haven't have had much time this week due to work.
Instagram: @_shaken.not.stirred

Late Developer

• Self-Coat
    • My Website
Re: New at film developing + scanning.
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2017, 08:42:22 AM »
Welcome aboard, Miguel.

Well, you seem to have pretty-much nailed the exposure and all four of the photos are really good.  My favourites are the first one and the guy with the cat.  You won't go far wrong with Tri-X and HP5+ but Across and, particularly PanF+ could be a bit slow if the light's not really good.  That said, they can be useful if you want to limit depth of field and shoot more wide open.

I'm not sure what you're shooting with but I'm guessing it's medium format. If so, Bravo...!