Author Topic: So, what slide film for fall in New England?  (Read 2203 times)

02Pilot

• Self-Coat
  • Malcontent
    • Filmosaur
So, what slide film for fall in New England?
« on: October 14, 2016, 02:35:45 AM »
Going up to Maine for the weekend. Foliage should be fairly colorful, and the weather looks like it will be sunny. As noted in the "I just picked up" thread a couple weeks ago, I received several rolls of slide film from a photographer friend, and I'm thinking of using a couple rolls on this trip. Trouble is, I have no real experience with slide film, so a bit of specific advice to supplement my internet research would be helpful.

I have Velvia 50, Velvia 100F, and Ektachrome 100GX. Haven't decided on the camera/lens yet, but knowing me it will probably be a Leica something. Which of these emulsions would you choose for sunny day fall foliage and why? Go!
Any man who can see what he wants to get on film will usually find some way to get it;
and a man who thinks his equipment is going to see for him is not going to get much of anything.

-Hunter S. Thompson
-
http://filmosaur.wordpress.com/

Late Developer

• Self-Coat
    • My Website
Re: So, what slide film for fall in New England?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2016, 05:13:48 AM »
Velvia 50 is a little slow for hand holding and Ektachrome can be a bit "blue". My choice would be Velvia 100f. Shot a load of it when we drove R66 in October 2013 and it came out very nice.
"An ounce of perception. A pound of obscure".

MacArron

• Wasting film...
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2016, 09:08:15 AM »
But also Velvia 50 with a small tripod would be fantastic. You would get sharp and colourful images.

I wouldn't use Ektachrome.
Cameras to enjoy (I use them all):
Contax 139Q/Contax RX/Exa 1b/Exa 1c/Kowa Six

Late Developer

• Self-Coat
    • My Website
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2016, 11:41:05 AM »
But also Velvia 50 with a small tripod would be fantastic. You would get sharp and colourful images.