Author Topic: A Magical and Unexplored Place  (Read 5350 times)

02Pilot

• Self-Coat
  • Malcontent
    • Filmosaur
A Magical and Unexplored Place
« on: August 13, 2016, 01:30:47 PM »
Castell Coch in south Wales. All shot on expired slide film, apparently.

http://www.bbc.com/news/in-pictures-37034154
Any man who can see what he wants to get on film will usually find some way to get it;
and a man who thinks his equipment is going to see for him is not going to get much of anything.

-Hunter S. Thompson
-
http://filmosaur.wordpress.com/

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
Re: A Magical and Unexplored Place
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2016, 04:11:56 PM »
Personally, I think he's wasted his time (and film) if that's the result of three months work.

He may have pushed the film but he doesn't seem to have pushed himself very much. And as for "reflecting the architectural pastiche of the castle", who's he kidding?
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

02Pilot

• Self-Coat
  • Malcontent
    • Filmosaur
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2016, 05:04:31 PM »
I wasn't particularly impressed by the photos either, but everyone has their own preferences. More interesting to me was the fact that he's another photographer working with, and experimenting with, film, and getting coverage from a major media outlet.

Don't get me started on artist statements....
« Last Edit: August 13, 2016, 05:06:20 PM by 02Pilot »
Any man who can see what he wants to get on film will usually find some way to get it;
and a man who thinks his equipment is going to see for him is not going to get much of anything.

-Hunter S. Thompson
-

hookstrapped

• Self-Coat
    • Peter Brian Schafer PHOTOGRAPHY
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2016, 06:22:00 PM »
Film is now officially a gimmick

02Pilot

• Self-Coat
  • Malcontent
    • Filmosaur
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2016, 06:51:53 PM »
Film is now officially a gimmick