Author Topic: Kickstarter 4x5 dev tank  (Read 4294 times)

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

JoeV

Re: Kickstarter 4x5 dev tank
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2015, 12:52:34 PM »
There's a lengthy thread on this at APUG.

What hasn't been adequately answered to my satisfaction is the evenness of development, because of the thin plastic film holders and the way that the agitated chemicals, via the plunger, circulate in the tank.

As anyone knows who's developed LF film, it's all too easy to get uneven development, like when using too small of a tray, or a Yankee tank with inadequate agitation.

Hopefully they can post their test results early enough so potential backers can make a decision.

~Joe

Terry

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2015, 01:00:12 PM »
I'm a complete convert to the Unicolor tank (or Beseler for that matter).  For even development and cost-effectiveness it's almost unbeatable.  And if the motor base stops working, it's usually nothing more than a bad capacitor...

Blaxton

• Sheet Film
    • Flickr
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2015, 05:47:48 AM »
Not to distract from what is possibly a fine new product, but I have enjoyed excellent results with a MOD54 reel in a Patterson Tank.  It seems to give as consistent results as tray developing and the lights can stay on.  It is also very easy to load.

http://mod54.com/pages/technical
https://www.flickr.com/photos/willblax/

There are some enterprises in which a careful disorderliness is the true method. -- Herman Melville

charles binns

• Self-Coat
    • Here and There
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2015, 06:39:02 AM »
Not to distract from what is possibly a fine new product, but I have enjoyed excellent results with a MOD54 reel in a Patterson Tank.  It seems to give as consistent results as tray developing and the lights can stay on.  It is also very easy to load.

http://mod54.com/pages/technical