Author Topic: One subject/one roll: my pathetic little jasmine plant  (Read 3112 times)

Indofunk

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
    • photog & music
One subject/one roll: my pathetic little jasmine plant
« on: January 30, 2015, 05:05:21 PM »
Inspired by Leonore's cactus thread, I decided to waste a roll on my spunky little jasmine plant. From the cactus thread:

I too have a black thumb (which was laughingly ironic during the period of time that I was a plant molecular biologist), to the point that I've even killed weed-like money plants. But I've had one jasmine plant for about 15 years .... I've forgotten to water it, it's been infected with spiders twice, I've cut everything off of it except for one short stem and it's regrown, and I've repotted it exactly once in that entire time (about 10 years ago) and despite everything I do to the poor thing, not only does it survive, but it even flowers occasionally (though not as often as it did in its youth). Hey, maybe I'll do a one roll/one subject on it  ::)

I also had a roll of super-old E4 process Ektachrome. I found this blog post where the author claims you can xpro E4 in C41 chemicals as long as you keep the temperature low (he claims anything above 80F will melt the emulsion off. yikes!). I shot the ASA160 film at EI50, and processed it as close to 75F as I could for 18 minutes in freshly-mixed C41. What came out were the thickest negs I've ever seen. Not sure exactly what happened, maybe I overexposed it? Overdeveloped? Whatever it was, it's kind of a cool effect, so here you are.

Here, by way of introduction, is the plant up close and personal:

Like me, it enjoys music:

And sometimes even tries to record music:

We share a love of reading, and coincidentally we have the same favorite author:

We take walks together:

And of course, browse the forum together:

« Last Edit: June 12, 2015, 07:38:40 PM by Indofunk »

Bryan

• Self-Coat
    • Flickr
Re: One subject/one roll: my pathetic little jasmine plant