Author Topic: Zenza Bronica SQ-A disassembly  (Read 7893 times)

cs1

• Self-Coat
Zenza Bronica SQ-A disassembly
« on: December 15, 2018, 09:55:57 PM »
Today I had the "pleasure" of disassembling my Zenza Bronica SQ-A because the mechanism that moves the mirror and the flap behind it to the upright position stopped working in the cold. Since there's nothing about disassembling the SQ-A on the net, I'll quickly write up a few hints. I'm no expert and this is very likely not "by the book" (I don't have a service/repair manual). But maybe it helps others to avoid mistakes that I made.

Tools:
  • JIS screwdrivers sizes J000 and J00 (I wouldn't use phillips screwdrivers because they don't seem to fit properly),
  • very thin but broad flathead screwdriver,
  • spanner wrench (used for the multi exposure lever),
  • a plastic spatula to remove the leatherette,
  • contact cement to glue back two leatherette pieces.

Warnings:
  • Do not unscrew anything anything at the back where the film back attaches unless you know exactly what you're doing! Many of the screws hold pieces inside the case in place (e. g. parts of the film back release mechanism). If you randomly unscrew them, things will fall into the case and mechanism. I know what I'm talking about, stupid me did it and it took me more than an hour to undo the damage.
  • Whatever you do, make absolutely sure that you're using the correct size of your JIS screwdrivers. All screws seem to be made of quite a soft material and you will damage the head if you don't use the right size. Some of the screws on my copy of the Bronica were really tight. I'd recommend to place the properly sized screwdriver precisely and use a controlled but strong amount of pressure when unscrewing a screw so that the initial momentum is strong enough to losen the screw properly. Dripping some alcohol on the screw to remove residue of any glue is helpful as well.