Author Topic: Split contrast printing  (Read 14688 times)

Jeff Warden

• Sheet Film
    • flickr
Split contrast printing
« on: January 14, 2012, 03:35:00 AM »
Hi all,

for the past few days I have been experimenting with split contrast printing.  I have enjoyed the process of learning how to do it, so this post is for those who haven't tried it but have an interest.

I'll be walking you through the numbered prints above.  I'm loosely following the technique outlined in the book 'Way Beyond Monochrome' by Ralph Lambrecht.  I'm a beginner so if you see any errors please let me know.

The idea of split contrast printing is to forget about contrast, and just print highlights (with a low contrast filter) and blacks (with a high contrast filter) with separate exposures on the same page.  The midtones are supposed to take care of themselves, mostly.  There are advantages and disadvantages to this process, but the first advantage is that you quickly get to a 'working print'. I think split contrast printing might be faster than single contrast for me.

Check the image above.  The first step is to find white while using the lowest contrast filter possible, the 00 filter.  (Filters go from 00 to 5 in ten steps).  You can see on the first test strip 3 seconds is too bright and 6 seconds is too dark, so I made another test strip using only 4 and 5 seconds.  I decided on 5.  Printing the entire image like this (which I wouldn't normally do but did today so you could see it) would result in image 1 below, which has nice lighter values but no dark ones:

The next step is to establish blacks.  The process is the same as establishing white, except you're using the highest contrast filter, #5.  The test strips below show that process:

I didn't label those, but I think you've got the idea.  The best black also happens at 5 seconds, and if we were to print the entire image that way (which we wouldn't) it would look like image #2, below.  Notice there is no sky at all: