Author Topic: "Embrace the blur"  (Read 19012 times)

Late Developer

• Self-Coat
    • My Website
"Embrace the blur"
« on: September 05, 2010, 06:34:13 PM »
I've just read Leon's "tongue-in-cheek" comment made to me in another thread and it got me wondering.

Although I've had a film camera since my teens in the early 70's, only a couple have had an auto-focus lens. All the manuals and books I studied at an early age said that the image must be pin-sharp and correctly exposed. After all, I can't remember any Ansel Adams images even displaying "bokeh" let alone having the subject matter a fraction out of focus.

In recent years I've been "seduced by the dork side" and got myself a digital SLR. These come, invariably, with a selection of superbly contrasty and sharp auto-focus lenses. Unless you switch off the auto-focus and shoot straight into the sun, it's virtually impossible to get a soft / out of focus / desaturated / flared image.

My latest acquisitions (Hasselblad 500c/m and a few old-style CT* lenses) require a lot more thought to get a good result and require me to go back to basics and re-learn how to be a proper photographer - a sniper rather than a machine gunner - and I don't always get it right.

So, that begs a question. How much blur is acceptable? Are there situations where it is actually better if the photo isn't crisply in focus and exposed to perfection? Where are the boundaries?

What's the consensus? Is there one or is this a very personal issue?
"An ounce of perception. A pound of obscure".

Terry

Re: "Embrace the blur"
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2010, 06:49:38 PM »