Author Topic: Update: Removing the black backing on FP 100 C  (Read 14492 times)

original_ann

• Self-Coat
Update: Removing the black backing on FP 100 C
« on: July 19, 2010, 01:39:20 PM »
I came across this wonderful follow-up from one of my film friends with regard to removing the black mask from Fuji's FP 100c  (recall original post here: http://www.filmwasters.com/forum/index.php?topic=2850.0 )

Instead of straight bleach, he's had great success with 'Scrubbing Bubbles w/ Bleach':
http://www.apug.org/forums/forum234/79276-polaroid-fp100c-processing-scrubbing-bubble-bleach.html

Photo_Utopia

• Sheet Film
  • The artist also known as Mark Antony
    • Photo Utopia
Re: Update: Removing the black backing on FP 100 C
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2010, 05:40:14 PM »
First of all I want to qualify that I haven't used the Fuji peel apart so I've obviously not tried (yet) this modus.
My background is in chemical photo processing so I wanted to add after reading the original thread that many people seemed to find the negatives dense and hard to scan.
In my opinion, the negative (donor) must have some kind of fix/bleach applied that goes to the print possibly the donor negative is not considered final output so has no clearing agents?
My thought is that the negatives might be dense because of high silver retention, normal fixing for 5 mins or even photo blix would probably give a better density for scanning.
Just my 2¢
Mark
There's more to this photography thing than meets the eye.

Ed Wenn

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
  • Slowly getting back into it. Sometimes.
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2010, 12:04:08 AM »
And why not resurrect/update one of my fave ever Filmwasters threads? Great stuff. Thanks Ann.

;)